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RESIDENTIAL RELOCATION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM BROCHURE

Introduction

The Relocation Assistance Program is designed to establish
uniform procedures in relocation assistance that will assure
legal entitlements and provide fair, equitable, and
consistent treatment to persons displaced by projects
administered by a local agency.

The program is administered in accordance with the
Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition
Policies Act of 1970, as amended (Uniform Act or URA).

This brochure is designed to answer your questions about
your relocation entitlements. Specific information about
relocation assistance is contained in the law. While every
effort has been made to assure the accuracy of this
brochure, it does not have the force and effect of the law.
Should any difference or error occur, the law will take
precedence. The law is contained in the United States Code,
42 USC 4601 et seq., Public Law 91-646, the implementing
regulations found in the Code of Federal Regulations, 49
CFR Part 24, the Revised Code of Washington, RCW 8.26,
and the implementing regulations of the Washington
Administrative Code, WAC 468-100.

Your concerns are important to our Agency and our goal is
to minimize any disruptions and other impacts of the
project. Thank you for taking the time to read this
brochure. Our Agency appreciates your understanding and
cooperation.

Rev. 8/2021
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Relocation Advisory Services

If you are displaced by a local agency’s public works project, you will be
offered relocation assistance services for the purpose of locating a
suitable replacement dwelling. It is our Agency’s goal and desire to be of
service to you and assist in any reasonable way to help you successfully
relocate.

Following is a summary of the relocation advisory assistance you will
receive if you are displaced. The relocation specialist will personally
interview you to:

e Offer relocation advisory assistance.

e Determine any special needs and requirements.

e Explain relocation process, entitlements, and payments.
e Offer transportation; if necessary.

e Assure the availability of at least one comparable replacement
dwelling in advance of displacement.

e Provide referrals to comparable replacement properties.

e Provide the amount of maximum replacement housing entittement and
the basis for the determination in writing 90-days or more prior to the
required vacate date.

e Inspect replacement houses for Decent, Safe, and Sanitary (DSS)
acceptability.

e Supply information about other federal, state, and local programs
offering assistance to displaced persons.

e Advise obtaining a professional home inspection when purchasing a
replacement dwelling.

Rev. 8/2021
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Residential Assistance

A relocation specialist will contact you to explain relocation services
available, the different types of relocation payments, move options, and

the eligibility requirements to receive relocation payments that apply to

you. During the first interview, your housing needs and desires will be
assessed as well as your need for assistance by completing an Occupancy
Survey. You will NOT be required to move unless at least one comparable
dwelling is made available to you, and you have been given a written
assurance at least 90 days prior to the date by which you will be

required to vacate the property. The Agency will provide this assurance in the
relocation letter entitled, “Notice of Relocation Eligibility, Entitlements &
90-Day Assurance.” If occupancy of the property is allowed beyond the date
the Agency acquires possession, you will be required to sign a rental
agreement and pay rent.

If you desire, the relocation specialist will give you current listings of other
available replacement housing and provide transportation to look at housing.

The relocation 90-day Assurance should not be confused with the required
20-day notice to terminate your lease, which is administered as part of
Property Management.

In Addition to Personal Contacts

Relocation offices are open during convenient hours, including evening hours
when necessary. The personnel employed in the relocation office will assist
you. Offices have access to or can refer you to the appropriate person/agency
for a variety of information concerning:

e Listings of Available e Interest Rates and Terms
Replacement Properties e VA and FHA Loan Requirements

e Local Housing Ordinances e Real Property Taxes

* Building Codes e Consumer Education Literature
e Social Services on Housing

e Security Deposits

Rev. 8/2021 3
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Social Services Provided by Other Agencies

Your relocation specialist can direct you to the services provided by other
public and private agencies in your community. If you have special needs, the
relocation specialist will make every effort to secure the services of those
agencies with trained personnel who have the expertise to help you. You
should talk to your relocation specialist about your desires for these kinds of
services.

Lawfully Present in the United States

Federal law requires certification of residency status. You will be required
to sign a form certifying you are lawfully present in the United States before
the relocation process can begin.

Not Lawfully Present in the United States

Any person who is an alien not lawfully present in the United States is
ineligible for relocation advisory services and relocation payments, unless
such ineligibility would result in exceptional and extremely unusual hardship
to a qualifying spouse, parent, or child as defined in WAC 468-100-208.

Rev. 8/2021
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Moving Payments

Please do not move before you have discussed your moving plans with
your relocation specialist and have a signed 'Move Expense Agreement.” You
can jeopardize your right to receive relocation entitlements unless you advise
the Agency prior to moving.

As a displaced person, you are entitled to reimbursement of your moving
costs and certain related expenses incurred in moving. The methods of
moving and the various types of moving cost payments are based on one or
a combination of the following three move types:

Commercial Move

If you prefer to have your personal property moved by a professional mover,
you will hire and coordinate with the mover to pack, load, move, and unload
your personal property. Once the move is complete, the Agency can make
direct payment to the moving company at your request.

Reimbursement will be limited to a maximum of a 50-mile distance. Related
expenses include:

e Packing and unpacking.
e Disconnecting and reconnecting household appliances.

e Reconnect fees for utilities at the replacement site (i.e., phone, cable,
power).

e Moving Insurance while your property is in transit.
e Other related costs.

Self-Move: Fixed Payment

You may choose to receive a Fixed Payment based on the fixed moving cost
schedule as outlined on the next page. This schedule is based on how
many rooms are in the displaced property and whether they are furnished.
The number of eligible rooms is determined by the relocation specialist.
Typically, bathrooms are not included in the room count. If you choose this
option, you will not be eligible for reimbursement of related expenses listed
under Commercial Move. The fixed moving cost schedule is designed to
cover such expenses.

Rev. 8/2021
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Fixed Moving Cost Schedule

Number of Eligible Rooms Payment to Occupants Who Own Furnishings

$800*

$1,100
$1,400
$1,700
$2,000
$2,300
$2,600
8 $2,900

*Includes $500 dislocation allowance for utility hookups and other miscellaneous
moving expenses.

Note. The expense and dislocation allowance fo a person with minimal personal
possessions occupying a dormitory style room shared by two or more unrelated

persons Is limited to $100.

The expense and dislocation allowance to a person with minimal personal possessions
occupying (renting) a room within a residence with shared living spaces is $500 plus $100
for each additional room.

Noju|h~h WIN|+—

Self-Move: Actual Cost

An Actual Cost Move is the reimbursement of actual costs incurred for
moving, supported by receipts or invoices for labor and equipment. Hourly
labor rates should not exceed the cost paid by a commercial mover to their
employees. Labor rates must be pre-approved by the Agency. Equipment
rental fees should be based on actual cost of renting the equipment but not
to exceed the cost paid by a commercial mover. Limited to a maximum
move distance of 50 miles.

Storage Costs

Temporary storage for up to 12 months, if determined to be necessary. Your
request for storage must be in writing and pre-approved by the Agency.

Rev. 8/2021 6
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Mobile Homes

Mobile homes, as defined in WAC 468-100-002(17), may be determined to
be either real property or personal property during the appraisal process.

Owners and/or occupants of mobile homes that are displaced may be
eligible for different types of relocation Replacement Housing Payments
depending on different situations in relation to ownership and occupancy.
Ownership and occupancy requirements for receiving any replacement
housing entitlement as a mobile homeowner/tenant is the same as for a
regular residential housing situation. The requirements for an owner/tenant
occupant in a typical, constructed residential dwelling are applied to the
occupant of a mobile home in all respects.

Mobile Home Considered Real Estate

The mobile home will be acquired through the acquisition process as real
estate according to Agency procedures.

Mobile Home Considered Personal Property

The mobile home will not be purchased by the Agency. You will be eligible
for the reasonable costs of moving the mobile home, including
disassembling, moving, reassembling, anchoring the unit, and utility hook
up charges.

All occupants of mobile homes being displaced are eligible for the costs to
move their personal property located inside the mobile home and outside on
the site of the mobile home using the move options described in the moving
payments section of this brochure and for advisory services.

Rev. 8/2021
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Replacement Housing Payments (RHP)

If you are a displaced person, you will be given a written notice of the
maximum relocation Replacement Housing Payment (RHP) that will apply to
your situation. The notice will be provided at least 90 days before the date by
which you may be required to move.

You cannot be required to move unless at least one “comparable
replacement dwelling” is made available to you.

RHP can be better understood if you become familiar with the definition of the
following terms.

Comparable

A comparable replacement dwelling should be functionally similar to your
present dwelling. While not necessarily identical to your present dwelling,
the replacement should have certain attributes:

e Similar number of rooms and living space.
e Located in an area not subject to adverse environmental conditions.

e Generally, not located in an area less desirable than your present location
with respect to public utilities and commercial and public facilities.

e Currently available to you.

e Lot size that is typical for similar dwelling located in the same or similar
neighborhood or rural area.

e Within the financial means of the displaced person.

e If you choose to purchase a replacement dwelling that is not similar to
your displacement dwelling, then the RHP will be adjusted accordingly.

For example, a single-family dwellingis not considered similar to a
multi-family dwelling and therefore not reasonable to apply the full
calculated RHP to the purchase of your replacement dwelling.

Rev. 8/2021 8
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Decent, Safe, and Sanitary (DSS)

Replacement housing must be Decent, Safe, and Sanitary (DSS), which
means it meets all the minimum requirements established by federal and
state regulations and conforms to applicable housing and occupancy codes.
The dwelling shall:

e Bestructurally sound, weather tight, and in good repair.

e Contain a safe electrical wiring system adequate for lighting and other
devices.

e Contain a heating system capable of sustaining a healthful temperature
(of approximately 70 degrees).

e Be adequate in size with respect to the number of rooms and area of
living space to accommodate the displaced person(s). The number of
persons occupying each habitable room used for sleeping purposes
should not exceed that permitted by local housing codes.

e Contain a well-lit ventilated bathroom, providing privacy to the user, and
equipped with a sink, bathtub or shower, and toilet. Everything must be
in good working order and properly connected to appropriate water and
sewage systems.

e Contain a kitchen area with a fully usable sink that is properly
connected to potable hot and cold water, and to a sewage system.
Must have adequate space and utility connections for stove and
refrigerator.

e Contain unobstructed egress to safe open space at ground level.

e For displaced persons with a disability: Be free of any barriers which
would preclude reasonable ingress, egress, or use of the dwelling.

The DSS inspection should be completed by your relocation specialist prior
to entering into a contractual agreement for your replacement dwelling.

The purpose of the DSS inspection of the replacement dwelling is to
determine eligibility for RHP and is not intended to be, nor constitutes,
warrants, or guarantees, that the replacement dwelling is free from defects.

You are advised to obtain a professional home inspection on the
replacement dwelling prior to making the purchase. The cost of the home
inspection is reimbursable as an incidental purchase expense.

RHP are separated into two categories based on whether you are an owner or
a tenant, and how long you have lived in the property being acquired prior to
negotiations.

Rev. 8/2021 9
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RHP Options for Owner Occupants of 90 days or more

Price Differential

If you are an owner and have occupied your home continuously for 90 days
or more prior to the Agency’s offer to purchase your property (90-day
owner), you may be eligible to receive a Price Differential Payment for the
cost necessary to purchase a comparable replacement dwelling. The Agency
will compute the maximum payment you are eligible to receive based on the
most comparable dwelling selected by the Agency.

The Price Differential Payment is the amount by which the cost of a
comparable replacement dwelling exceeds the acquisition cost of the
displacement dwelling. The price differential payment and the payments
listed below are in addition to the acquisition price paid for your property.

If you receive more than the appraised value for your current dwelling in the
form of an Administrative Settlement, your Price Differential Payment will
be reduced.

e Mortgage Interest Differential Payment (MIDP) - You may be
reimbursed for increased mortgage interest costs if the interest rate
on your new mortgage exceeds that of your present mortgage. Your
displacement dwelling must have been encumbered by a bona fide
mortgage, which was a valid lien for at least 180-days prior to the
initiation of negotiations.

e Incidental Purchase Expenses - You may also be reimbursed for
other expenses such as reasonable costs incurred for appraisal, home
inspection, title search, recording fees, and certain other closing costs
normally paid by a purchaser, but not including prepaid expenses
such as real estate taxes, property taxes, property insurance, prepaid
interest, and homeowner association dues. These expenses are found
on the preliminary closing statement provided by the title company.
Some expenses reimbursed are based on the outstanding balance of
your current mortgage at your displacement dwelling. Your relocation
specialist can provide a list of those reimbursable items upon request. A
professional home inspection is highly recommended when purchasing a
replacement dwelling.

Rev. 8/2021 10
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EXAMPLE - Maximum Price Differential Payment Computation

The Agency computes the maximum price differential payment based
upon a DSS comparable replacement property selected by the Agency
that is currently available for you to purchase.

The EXAMPLE computation is shown as follows:

Price of Comparable Property $130,000
Acquisition Price of Your Property -120,000
Maximum Price Differential $ 10,000

In this example, the Maximum Price Differential Payment is $10,000

ORIGINAL REPLACE
AQUISITION COST COMPARABLE REPLACEMENT
$120,000 $130,000

Rev. 8/2021
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EXAMPLES - Actual Price Differential Payment Computation

How much of the price differential payment you receive depends on how
much you actually spend to purchase a replacement property and the
amount of the maximum price differential payment. Assuming the maximum
price differential payment is $10,000, (as shown in the example on the
previous page) your actual entitlement is computed as shown in the
following examples:

Example A
Purchase Price of Replacement Property $130,000
Acquisition Price of Your Property $120,000
Actual Price Differential Payment $ 10,000
Example B
Purchase Price of Replacement Property $133,500
Acquisition Price of Your Property $120,000
Actual Price Differential Payment $ 10,000
You Must Pay the Additional $ 3,500
Example C
Purchase Price of Replacement Property $127,000
Acquisition Price of Your Property $120,000
Actual Price Differential Payment $ 7,000

Rent Supplement Payment (RSP)

If you decide not to purchase a replacement dwelling and elect to rent
instead, you may be eligible for a Rent Supplement Payment (RSP). Your
relocation specialist can discuss this with you if you are interested in this
option.

To become eligible for a RSP or RHP, you must rent/purchase and occupy a

DSS replacement dwelling within one year and make your claim for your
RSP/RHP within 18 months.

Note: Your 18-month claim period starts after either the date you
move from the acquired property or the date you receive final
acquisition payment, whichever is later.

Rev. 8/2021 12



RESIDENTIAL RELOCATION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM BROCHURE

RHP Options for 90-Day Tenant Occupants

Rent Supplement Payment (RSP)

If you are a displaced tenant occupant of 90 days or more, you may be
eligible for a Rent Supplement Payment (RSP). To be eligible for a RSP,
tenants and owners must be in actual and lawful occupancy for at least 90
days prior to the Agency'’s offer to purchase the property.

This payment was designed to enable you to rent a comparable DSS
replacement dwelling for a three- and one-half-year period (42 months). If
you choose to rent a replacement dwelling and the rental cost is higher
than what you currently pay, you may be eligible for an RSP.

The amount of your total gross monthly income may also influence the
amount of your RSP. Your relocation specialist will advise you further
regarding this matter.

If you are paying little or no rent, your RSP will be calculated based on fair
market rent as determined by the appraiser.

The Agency will compute the maximum payment you are eligible to receive
based on the most comparable dwelling selected by the Agency. The RSP
will be paid in accordance with Agency policy.

To become eligible for a RSP, you must rent/lease and occupy a DSS
replacement dwelling within one year and you must claim any payments
within 18 months.

Note: The term 'utilities” means expenses for electricity, gas, other heating
and cooking fuels, water, and sewage.

Rev. 8/2021
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EXAMPLE- Maximum Rent Supplement Computation
Monthly difference in rent plus utilities $100

Maximum rent supplement equals
42 times monthly difference in rent plus utilities $4,200

||

ORIGINAL AGENCY COMPARABLE
ORIGINAL RENT AND UTILITIES COMPARABLE DWELLING RENT AND UTILITIES
$600 $700

In this example, Rent Supplement Payment may be any amount
up to $4,200

EXAMPLE - Actual Rent Supplement Computation
Original Rent $600 per month (includes utilities)
Replacement Rent $675 per month (includes utilities)

In this example, the Actual Rental Supplement Payment over 32 years (42
months) is $3,150 ($75 difference times 42 months).

Rev. 8/2021 14
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Down Payment Assistance
As a 90-day tenant occupant, you may use the full amount of your RSP or

$7,200, whichever is greater, as a down payment allowance and to pay some

eligible incidental expenses to purchase a replacement dwelling.

Incidental expenses include the reasonable costs of an appraisal, home
inspection, title search, recording fees, and certain other closing costs, but
do not include prepaid expenses such as real estate and property taxes,
insurance, prepaid interest, and homeowner association dues. You may
also be eligible for the reimbursement of loan origination or assumption
fees, if such fees are normal to real estate transactions in your area and
they do not represent prepaid interest. The combined amount of the down
payment assistance and incidental expenses cannot exceed the amount

of the computed RSP or the $7,200 down payment assistance, whichever
is greater.

A professional home inspection of the replacement dwelling is strongly
advised prior to the purchase of the replacement property.

Again, to become eligible for a RHP, you must purchase and occupy a DSS
replacement dwelling within one year and make your claim for your
replacement housing payment within 18 months.

Note: Owner occupants are further limited to an amount not to exceed the price
differential they would be entitled to if they were classified as owners 90-days

or more.

Rev. 8/2021
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Housing of Last Resort

Normally, an adequate supply of housing will be available for sale or rent;
and the entitlements provided will be sufficient to enable you to relocate to
comparable housing. However, there may be projects in certain locations
where the supply of available housing is insufficient to provide housing for
those persons being displaced.

If comparable housing is not available, or the RHP exceeds the statutory
maximum of $7,200 for a 90-day tenant occupant or the statutory maximum
of $31,000 for a 90-day owner occupant, housing will be provided under an
administrative process called Housing of Last Resort.

For those displaced persons who fail to meet the length of occupancy
requirements, additional assistance will be available through Housing of Last

Resort.
Necessary housing may be provided in several ways, such as:

e Purchasing an existing comparable residential property and renting it to
a displaced tenant.

e Relocating and rehabilitating (if necessary) a displacement dwelling to
make it available to the displaced owner.

e Purchasing, rehabilitating, and/or constructing additions to an existing
dwelling to make it comparable to the displacement property.

e Purchasing land and constructing a new replacement dwelling
comparable to the displacement property when a comparable is not
otherwise available.

e Purchasing an existing dwelling, removing barriers and/or rehabilitating
the structure to accommodate a displaced person when suitable
comparable replacement dwellings are not available.

e Paying in excess of the statutory maximum of $7,200 or $31,000
payment limits to displaced persons to provide the necessary housing or
financing.

e There is broad flexibility in implementing the Housing of Last Resort
program.

Rev. 8/2021 16
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You have freedom of choice in the selection of your replacement housing.
The Agency will not require any displaced person, without the person’s
written consent, to accept a replacement dwelling provided by the Agency.
If you decide not to accept the replacement housing offered by the Agency,
you may independently secure a replacement dwelling, providing it meets
DSS housing standards. If you are eligible for replacement housing under
the Housing of Last Resort program, you will be so informed by the
relocation specialist who will explain the program.

Relocation Payments Not Considered Income

Relocation payments are not considered as income for the purpose of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

Rev. 8/2021
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Right to Appeal an Agency Decision

If you disagree with a determination the City of Wenatchee makes as to
your eligibility for or the amount of your relocation entitlement, a
request for a hearing must be filed with the Right-of-Way (ROW)
Manager, which for the City of Wenatchee is the Public Works Director,
within thirty (30) calendar days following receipt of the written
notification of the City’s determination of relocation compensation.
Hearing proceedings by the Relocation Review Board are initiated upon
receipt by the ROW Manager of a statement or letter from the displaced
person or the displaced person’s representative. Written
communication may be sent to:

Public Works Director

City of Wenatchee

PO Box 519

Wenatchee, Washington 98807-0519

You also have the right to appeal the Relocation Review Board’s
determination by filing a formal request to the ROW Manager (above)
for an appeal to the hearing examiner within thirty (30) calendar days
of the Relocation Review Board’s decision.

Rev. 8/2021 18
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Agency Title Vi Notice to Public

It is the Agency’s policy to ensure that no person shall, on the grounds of race,
color, national origin, as provided by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, be
excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise
discriminated against under any of its programs and activities. Any person who
believes his/her Title VI protection has been violated, may file a complaint with
the City of Wenatchee. For additional information regarding Title VI complaint
procedures and/or information regarding our non-discrimination obligations,
please contact the City of Wenatchee.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Information

This material can be made available in an alternate format by emailing the City
of Wenatchee or by calling toll free, 855-362-4ADA (4232). Persons who are
deaf or hard of hearing may make a request by calling the Washington State
Relay at 711.

City of Wenatchee

PO Box 519

Wenatchee, WA 98807-0519
Jake Lewing

509-888-6204
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